THE MARKAS: An Anthology of Literary Works on Boko Haram (2019) Edited by Tanure Ojaide, Razinat T.


Edited by Tanure Ojaide, Razinat T. Mohammed, Abubakar Othman.

This anthology is an outcome of literary writers’ reaction to the Boko Haram insurgency in the north-eastern part of Nigeria. Lives therein have not only been extensively disrupted by the group’s violent tactics and the mind-numbing levels of physical destruction and thousands of deaths, but also in the dislocation of millions of people, with most of them seeking refuge in urban centres, especially Maiduguri, for safety. These refugees, classified as Internally Displaced Persons and in camps guarded by Nigerian soldiers, have received worldwide attention. Writers in the affected areas and elsewhere in Nigeria have responded in their poetry, short stories, and non-fiction some of which are collected here.


SKU: MTH11-P Categories: ,



Tanure Ojaide

A renowned poet, Tanure Ojaide has won major national and international poetry awards, including the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Africa Region (1987), the BBC Arts and Africa Poetry Award (1988), twice the All-Africa Okigbo Prize for Poetry (1988 and 1997), and thrice the Association of Nigerian Authors’ Poetry Prize (1988, 1994 and 2004. In 2016 Ojaide was awarded the the prestigious Fonlon-Nichols Award at the 42nd annual African Literature Association (ALA) conference in Atlanta.

For Tanure Ojaide, “the creative writer is never an airplant, but someone who is grounded in some specific place. It is difficult to talk of many writers without their identification with place. Every writer’s roots are very important in understanding his or her work.” He has read from his poetry in different fora in Africa, Britain, Canada, Israel, Mexico, The Netherlands, and the United States. Some of his poems have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, Spanish and French. He is currently the Frank Porter Graham Professor of Africana Studies at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Visit Tanure Ojaide’s website here:

Razinat T. Mohammed

Razinat T. Mohammed and is the award winning author of A Love Like a Woman’s and Other Stories. She is a lecturer at the University of Maiduguri where she lives.

Abubakar Othman

Professor Abubakar Othman holds a PhD in Literary Psychoanalysis and teaches African poetry and Creative Writing at the University of Maiduguri. His published works include The Palm of Time (2000, Malthouse), The Passions of Cupid (2013 Kraftbooks), and Blood Streams in the Desert (2013 Kraftbooks)

Additional information








Malthouse Press, Nigeria




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE MARKAS: An Anthology of Literary Works on Boko Haram (2019) Edited by Tanure Ojaide, Razinat T.”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *